Crown Point High School
Alumni Association

Fifth Annual Hall of Fame Banquet

A Carnahan family photo from last night’s Crown Point High School Alumni Hall of Fame Induction Banquet. What a memorable evening for my family, and I got to see so many old teachers and friends. A night none of us will forget! The committee did a WONDERFUL job! Great entertainment, food, and speeches. Thank you! — with Tom Sullivan and 5 others.

Submitted by Kay Carnahan Sullivan

Next Meeting

Our next meeting is on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
at the Crown Point Civic Center -
Clark & East Streets Crown Point, Indiana
beginning  at 6:30 p. m. 

Hall Of Fame Banquet

Thank you to everyone for making the
Fifth Annual Hall of Fame Banquet a great success.
A great night for the “Bulldog Nation”, and
a greater night for all CPHS Students, past,
present and future.

CPHS Cheerleaders

The Crown Point High School Cheerleaders Were Crowned National
Champions. Great Job Students and Parents!!!!


Junior Aly Tetzloff – 100 Fly and Freshman Hannah Kurkuruga -
500 Free were Crowned Girl’s State Champions. Congratulations!!!





CPHS Sectional Champions!!

Boy’s Swimming, Girl’s Swimming and Boy’s Wrestling

2014 Teacher Hall of Fame Inductees

Carl W. Carnahan 1942-1971
Richard “Dick” Gordon 1961-1995
Janelle Haack 1972-1997
Benjamin Owen 1955-1987
Lucille Pruitt 1962-1996
George Tachtiris 1973-2005

2014 Student Hall of Fame Inductees

Dawn Donaldson Caldart Class of 1984
Dr. Merit Erickson Lemke Class of 1984
Terry Pettit Class of 1964
Dan Plesac Class of 1980
Robert Rees Class of 1959
Gina Velasco Class of 1994


Was held at THE SUPERBOWL in Crown Point on Saturday,
March 29, 2014. Thank you for your support. The night was
a smashing success!.


Portrait of a Graduate: Kristina Mihaljovic and Nina Rettig

Bulldog Underdog: Morgan Wise

Ted Smith Art: Lauren Nagy

Jim Hosfeld presenting a Portrait of a Graduate scholarship
Karen Smith presenting the Theodore Smith Art Scholarship


Become a member of the CPHS Alumni Association today and begin to enjoy the benefits that only membership can bring.
Single year membership: $15.00
Lifetime membership: $150.00 (minus your age and minus previously paid current year dues).
Lifetime Membership calculation example:
If you are 60 years of age and have paid your 2013 dues at $15, your Lifetime Membership would only cost $75.
($150.00-60=$90, $90-15=$75)
Mail your dues to: Crown Point High School Alumni Association, P O Box 240, Crown Point, IN 46308
E-mail questions to:


*Violet M. Krapf Doty – Class of 1937
*James Hosfeld – Class of 1968
*Irene A. Doty – Class of 1967
*Barb Hinkson Sobierajski – Class of 1970
*Wendy Croft Brissette – Class of 1969
*Deborah Graves Deaton – Class of 1969
*James DePaoli – Class of 1969
*Charles (Bud) Bowman – Retired Teacher
*William Machacek – Class of 1957
*Donna Moser – Retired Teacher
*Cynthia Agans – Class of 1966
*Peg Nelson – Class of 1968
*Terry Lee – Class of 1967
*Mary Jean Niemeyer Smith – Class of 1966
*Thomas May – Retired Teacher
*Nancy May – Retired Teacher
*Donna Heckel Coleman – Class of 1969
*Alice Lauterbur – Retired Teacher
*Jerry Holcomb – Retired Teacher
*Christine Arnold Lee – Class of 1969
*Paul Georgas – Retired Teacher
*Robert Conard – Retired Teacher
*William Carroll – Class of 1969
*Jerry Smith – Class of 1983
*Ron Hampton – Class of 1969
*Dana Henderson Zurbriggen – Class of 1987
*Chester Rybicki – Class of 1967
*William Logan – Class of 1965
*Doug Logan – Class of 1970
*Tim Mantel – Class of 1967
*Sheila Graham Mantel – Class of 1968
*Dr. Joseph Kacmar – Class of 1968
*Barbara Wild Kacmar – Class of 1968
*Jeffery L. Wilkinson – Class of 1967
*Roger Blake – Class of 1967
*Dee Burke Lang – Class of 1968
*Karen Lynn Smith – Class of 1970
*Paul Zurbriggen – Class of 1988
*Jerry A. Caravana – Retired Teacher
*Peter Leets – Class of 1964
*Robert Hobson – Class of 1953
*David Adams – Class of 1986
*Wayne Raker – Class of 1969
*Elaine M. VanDenburgh Raker- Class of 1971
*Joseph Heuer – Retired Teacher
*Gary Paulsen – Class of 1968
*Mark Mallatt – Class of 1968
*Sandra Arseneau – Class of 1968
*Jewell Everett Sheldon – Class of 1968
*Penny Keegan Ivey – Class of 1968
*Wayne (Doc) Hurt – Class of 1968
*Marion Kellum – Retired Teacher
*Keith Iddings – Class of 1981
*Charles Lee – Class of 1966
*Glenn Raymond Cooper, Jr. – Class of 1967
*Sandra Schofield Bobrowski – Class of 1969
*Robert M. Corbin – Class of 1968
*Rebecca Isaac Shearman – Class of 1969
*Fred Blake – Class of 1969
*Paul VanDenburgh – Class of 1966
*Elaine Hochbaum VanDenburgh – Class of 1967
*Bob Lamphier – Class of 1964
*Nancy Cowan Eksten – Class of 1984
*Richard “Dick” Gordon – Retired Teacher

History 101

We have also been cracking open the vault and looking for Crown Point High School memorabilia to display in the new high school! Please contact if you have any items to donate.

Here are some of the projects currently being researched and displayed:

  • CPHS Photographic Timeline (Foyer)
  • "Portrait of a Graduate" Hall of Fame (Foyer)
  • Teacher Hall of Fame (SGI Room)
  • Performing Arts Photographic History (Auditorium Foyer)
  • Alumni Pictorial Student Life History (Cafeteria)


The mission of the Crown Point High School Alumni Association is to develop and maintain a close relationship between Crown Point Community Schools, its constituents, and its alumni for their mutual benefit. The Association is committed to, and involved in, the support and well-being of Crown Point Community Schools and its alumni.

Definition of Alumni:

All persons who have attended Crown Point Community Schools as listed by the registrar are defined as being alumni, and those who have taken part in the educational process at all levels, both faculty and staff, are defined as being alumni.


  • To support educational programs through student scholarships, teacher grants and support of the Crown Point Education Foundation.
  • To assist Crown Point Community Schools in communicating with its alumni.
  • To convey to Crown Point Community Schools, the views, attitudes, and needs of the alumni in seeking to preserve, advocate and promote alumni interests.
  • To honor alumni with "Portrait of a Graduate" Hall of Fame and Teacher Hall of Fame.
  • To strengthen alumni activities and programs.
  • To preserve and instill an appreciation of the history of Crown Point Community Schools.

hit counter script
hit counter html code